School Advisory Council


    As mandated by the Diocese of Metuchen the School Advisory Council (SAC) meets monthly to assist the pastor and school administration in meeting the established goals of the St. Matthias School.  Members are selected by the pastor for their commitment to Catholic Education and for the talent and experience they bring.  Current members include special education teachers and supervisors, a school superintendent, a university administrator, school parent, and representation from the Parish Council and the School Finance Council. 


    The SAC offers guidance so that the school community can better achieve the goals identified in the Strategic Plan:  strong Catholic identity, an academically excellent education, effective faculty/staff support, development and fundraising that meets the needs of SMS, facilities planning , marketing and enrollment, financial planning, and effective leadership/governance.


    Current SAC members are:   Fr. Abraham, Sheila Connelly, Vickie Bartizal, Laura Beck, Nina Donohue,             Joseph Gidaro, Ana Kelly, Peter Kostik, Kristy Landmesser, Sue Lenczewski, Elena Malinconico,                              Lisa Negvesky, Jackie Schneider, Walter Scott.